Oregon Paid Family and Medical Leave (OR PFML)



Employee Notice of Benefits Available Under ORS 657B

Your employer has engaged Standard Insurance Company (The Standard) to administer your OR PFML benefits through a stateapproved equivalent (private) plan. Benefits administered by The Standard's plan will be equal to or greater than benefits provided through the state-administered Paid Leave Oregon program, and will never cost employees more than participation under the state program.

Who is eligible for OR PFML Benefits?

Each employee who has Oregon wages may qualify for OR PFML. While on OR PFML, employees are paid a percentage of their wages. Benefit amounts depend on what an employee earned before their leave begins (or in the prior year if the benefit amount would be greater).

Paid benefits are available to eligible employees up to a combined 12 weeks per **Benefit Year:**

- to bond following the birth, adoption or foster placement of the employee's child within the first 12 months of birth or placement;
- to care for the employee's own serious health condition;
- to care for a family member's serious health condition;
- for safe leave related to the employee, or employee's minor child or dependent experiencing sexual assault, domestic violence, harassment, bias crimes or stalking

Up to an additional 2 weeks are available for limitations related to pregnancy, childbirth or a related medical condition, including but not limited to lactation, for total leave not to exceed 14 weeks per Benefit Year.

Who pays for Oregon paid family and medical leave benefits?

Employees and employers contribute to the cost of the program through payroll taxes. Employers with approved Equivalent Plans may choose alternate funding scenarios. This will be communicated to you by your employer.

When do I need to tell my employer about taking leave?

If your leave is foreseeable, you are required to give notice to your employer at least 30 days before starting paid family, medical or safe leave. If you do not give the required notice, your first weekly benefit may be reduced.

How do I apply for OR PFML?

You can apply for paid famly and medical leave with The Standard by calling 866.756.8116, on Standard.com, or by requesting a paper application from your employer. If your application is denied, you can appeal the decision to The Standard and/or the Oregon Employment Department.

What are my rights?

If you are eligible for paid family and medical leave, your employer cannot prevent you from taking it. Your job is protected while you take OR PFML leave if you have worked for your employer for at least 90 consecutive calendar days. You will not lose your pension rights while on paid family and medical leave and your employer must continue to provide you the same health benefits as when you are working.

How is my information protected?

Any health information related to family, medical or safe leave that you choose to share with your employer is confidential and can only be released with your permission, unless the release is required by law.

What if I have questions about my rights?

It is unlawful for your employer to discriminate or retaliate against you because you asked about or claimed paid family and medical leave benefits. If your employer is not following the law, you have the right to bring a civil suit in court or to file a complaint with the Oregon Bureau of Labor & Industries (BOLI). You can file a complaint with BOLI online, via phone or email:

Web: www.oregon.gov/boli

Call: 971-245-3844

Email: help@boli.oregon.gov

Learn more about Paid Leave Oregon

web: paidleave.oregon.gov Call: 833-854-0166





Standard Insurance Company 1100 SW Sixth Avenue, Portland, OR, 97204 I standard.com